Random Thoughts from this Year’s Renewable Energy Fair

Posted on June 27, 2007. Filed under: General, Solar |


MV%20%26%20Content%20Cropped%20-To%20post.jpg

Petroleum and Natural Gas Watch
by Michael Vickerman, RENEW Wisconsin
June 26, 2007, Volume 6, Number 8

For some turnout is the measure of success at the annual Midwest Renewable Energy and Sustainable Living Fair, held each year in central Wisconsin over the summer solstice weekend. But the presenters and exhibitors at this three-day expo have their own yardstick for gauging a good fair: jaw muscle fatigue.

While I have no idea how many people attended this year’s edition, the ache in my jaws on Sunday afternoon told me that I had exceeded my personal quota of answering questions and giving advice on how to use the naturally occurring and non-depleting energy around us to prepare for the coming energy squeeze.

The barrage of questions at the RENEW Wisconsin table was nonstop. Examples: “If I put up solar panels, can I sell the power I don’t need to my utility?” “How do I know I live in a windy area?” “When will solar energy become cheaper than utility power?” “Why do I have to pay the utilities extra for renewable energy?” “Can I put a wind generator on my house?” “Can you put a wind generator on your property and sell the electricity to your neighbors?” And, of course, this hardy perennial: “How do I persuade my rural electric co-op to provide rebates for wind and solar?”

Continue reading here.

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

    About

    A statewide nonprofit dedicated to promoting economically and environmentally sustainable energy policies and practices in Wisconsin.

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...